Skip to content
Special Educational Needs & Disability Information, Advice & Support Service

School Curriculum

The ‘basic’ school curriculum includes the ‘national curriculum’.  It also includes compulsory subjects, including religious education and sex education. The national curriculum is a set of subjects and standards.  These standards are used by primary and secondary schools.  This is so that all children learn the same things. It covers:

  • which subjects are taught
  • the attainment targets that children should reach in each subject at each age

Other types of school like academies and private schools don’t have to follow the national curriculum. Academies must teach a broad and balanced curriculum including:

  • English
  • Maths
  • Science
  • Religious Education

The national curriculum is organised into blocks of years called ‘key stages’ (KS). At the end of each key stage, your child’s teacher will formally assess their performance to measure your child’s progress.